Sarah Elliott’s Blog

Travel with me on my voyage of learning and discovery…

Building collaborative units – MYP

Posted by sarahelliott on March 14, 2010

Finally, after the Christmas holidays I returned to work from maternity leave on a 60% TL position. One of my priorities at this time was to start to get involved with some units that were being studied in both the Primary and Middle schools, as I consider this an essential element of the role of the TL. As I still had (and still have now) numerous clerical jobs to do (we are a new library), I decided to start with 1 Middle Years unit and 1 Primary years unit.

As I am a trained PY class teacher, I figured that it would be easiest to start with the PY unit – so I decided to challenge myself and actually begin with the MY one! 🙂

The MYP encourages cross-curricular units of work between separate subject groups. As I was already involved with the Events Committee, I thought that it would make more sense to try to collaborate with some subject teachers on building a unit of work that would be linked to our plan to have a whole school Chinese New Year celebration. The reasoning behind this was to make the celebration not just a food and flags festival, but rather a research-based unit that would help develop better understanding of global peers and develop the idea of internationalism in our school.

The subjects that I asked to work with me were Technology and P.E. I managed to convince those subject teachers that we could collaborate on building a unit of work about Chinese New Year. It was built on the Approaches to Learning and Communities and Service areas of interaction and was designed for Grade 7 (ages 12 – 13). In P.E., the dance curriculum was used for students to design and create (as a whole class) a dance and in Technology, the students were to be charged with designing (individually) and then creating (as a whole class) a costume that they would wear for the dance at the whole school evening celebration. Initially, Grade 7 researched Chinese New Year in general, in terms of what the history and traditions are. Based on this, they determined that they would create a dragon and dragon dance. All the research elements for the unit were carried out with me and were based around a wikispace. Please visit the Chinese New Year Celebration wikispace!

The wiki initially included information on James Herring’s PLUS search model that I used with the student, task definitions – including the subject specific assessment criteria from the technology and P.E. teachers, pathfinder-like pages with annotations about direct links to possible resources and a live chat function so that the students could contact me outside of school hours with any concerns or questions.

Collaborative pages were added to the wikispace as the weeks progressed. We used Wallwisher a lot as a brain-storming and note-taking tool. I created blank walls in advance and embedded them on pages on the wikispace. The students divided up into teams (chosen themselves) and focused on finding information on particular aspects of Chinese New Year. They then added their thoughts and findings to the walls that I had created and the changes were then immediately accessible from the wikispace. They were able to use Wallwisher to organise the information that they found – by dragging their notes around into groups, or into an order for their presentations. They collected information from online resources about their Chinese New Year topics. which they then used to create a Photostory presentation. They found images (using Creative Commons) to include and tried to cite all the sources that they had used in the presentations too. The individual presentations were then combined to create a video presentation about Chinese New Year.

This presentation was shared with the rest of the Middle Years in an assembly in order to increase their understanding of the celebration that was to take place. They then built upon it, each year group assuming responsibility for a different role for the night of the celebration. It was also presented to everyone who attended the evening celebration.

In addition to that presentation, the students used video clips and images to research how to design and create the dragon and dance itself. Another wikispace page was created where they could upload their findings about what should be included in the dance and the technology teacher also created a page where the designs for the dragon were pasted.

You can see a clip of their dragon dance performance here:

I initially created a self-evaluation page on the wiki, with the intention that the students would be able to use it to share their reflections at various points of the unit. However, this didn’t work very well, as they weren’t able to edit it at the same time as anyone else from their class. Therefore, we decided to use the discussion tab at the top of any page for reflections. This was far more practical, as firstly they didn’t overwrite anyone else’s work and secondly, I was able to respond more easily and directly to their comments.

In order to allow enough time for this unit to work, other subject teachers (humanities, English and Norwegian) were flexible enough to allow me to take some of their timetabled lessons with Grade 7 on a weekly basis for about 5 weeks.

This unit was incredibly successful. The students hit a low point after the first week or 2 when they started to panic about the amount of work they had to do. I was able to identify it as a crisis in confidence that really fitted in with Carol Kulthau’s research on the affective domain of the information search process. Together with their homeroom teacher, I coached them through that negative time and tried to employ some intervention strategies that centred on conversation, collaboration and choice. We worked together with the students to make the tasks seem more manageable and they quickly picked up in confidence and enthusiasm again.

At the end of the unit I asked the students for general feedback and they were all very positive about using the wiki to guide them through the entire process. Once they could see the bigger picture, they enjoyed the tasks. They benefitted from using web 2.0 tools and were able to improve their information literacy skills.

For our little school, the celebration that came out of this unit was a real move forward in developing a whole school community.

46 Responses to “Building collaborative units – MYP”

  1. Vigdis said

    Hi Sarah. Nice to see the video clip of our kids here 😉
    You did a great job on this. Miss you!
    Vigdis E.

  2. website said

    I experimented with viewing your blog with my mobile phone and the layout doesnt seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your site.

  3. I tried taking a look at your blog with my mobile phone and the page layout does not seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web site.

  4. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your web-site in to Chinese? I know a few of translaters here that would help you do it for free if you wanna contact me personally.

  5. I tried viewing your site with my ipod touch and the structure does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not working with your site.

  6. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with converting your blog in to French? I know a couple of of translaters here that would certainly help you do it for no cost if you want to make contact with me.

  7. I have got 1 recommendation for your site. It seems like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet issues when launching a selection of webpages in google chrome as well as firefox. It is operating okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

  8. I believe that one of your current advertisements caused my internet browser to resize, you may well want to get that on your blacklist.

  9. You should really moderate the commentary listed here

  10. rather helpful material, on the whole I picture this is worthy of a book mark, thanks

  11. buy fridge freezer said

    I think one of your current advertisements caused my internet browser to resize, you may well want to set that on your blacklist.

  12. This blog has a lot of extremely helpful info on it! Thanks for sharing it with me!

  13. I experimented with looking at your website in my new iphone 4 and the layout does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your site.

  14. Have you considered adding some differing opinions to the article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.

  15. A cool blog post there mate ! Thank you for posting .

  16. Please message me with some hints & tips on how you made your blog look this cool , I would be thankful.

  17. How do you make a site look this cool. Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it.

  18. going here said

    Have you considered adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.

  19. Could you email me with any pointers about how you made this blog site look like this , Id appreciate it!

  20. This blog site has got lots of extremely helpful information on it! Thanks for informing me!

  21. I feel one of your current advertisements caused my internet browser to resize, you might well need to set up that on your blacklist.

  22. this month said

    Re: The person who made the statement that this was an excellent internet site truly needs to get their head reviewed.

  23. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this webpage. Have you ever before believed about trying to remove them or putting in a extension?

  24. homepage said

    How come you do not have your site viewable in wap format? cant view anything in my Droid.

  25. pip rebate said

    The design for your website is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your site. I might need to use a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  26. ibs causes said

    Although I really like this post, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the finish with the 3rd section.

  27. If you could message me with a few hints & tips on how you made this website look like this , Id be thankful!

  28. go there said

    You need to really moderate the remarks listed here

  29. Hey there, I just hopped over to your web-site using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would generally browse, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making something well worth browsing.

  30. While I truly like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error shut to the end of the third paragraph.

  31. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your current web page into Spanish? I know a couple of translaters right here that might help you do it for free if you want to get in touch with me.

  32. I experimented with looking at your website in my new iphone 4 and the format does not seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  33. This is often a fantastic blog, would you be interested in working on an interview about just how you developed it? If so e-mail myself!

  34. Hey, I just hopped over to your webpage via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing worthy of reading.

  35. How do you make this blog look this awesome!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. .

  36. Re: The person who produced the statement that this was a great web site genuinely needs to get their brain inspected.

  37. Jesus Christ there is lots of spammy comments on this site. Have you ever before thought about attempting to remove them or putting in a wordpress plugin?

  38. I like the website layout . How did you make it. Its very cool.

  39. This is really a excellent site, would you be interested in doing an interview concerning just how you designed it? If so e-mail myself!

  40. success said

    Hi, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth browsing.

  41. Could you email me with a few pointers on how you made your website look this good , I would be appreciative!

  42. Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At the very least for myspace.

  43. Wow. This website is sick. How can I make it look this good !

  44. sponsor said

    It appears to me that this web site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the exact same problem? I enjoy this site and dont want to have to miss it when Im gone from my computer.

  45. I enjoy your wordpress web template, where did you get a hold of it?

  46. I love that site layout . How was it made. It is very nice.

Leave a Reply

 
