Sarah Elliott’s Blog

Travel with me on my voyage of learning and discovery…

An update

Posted by sarahelliott on May 25, 2009

Well given the negative tone of my last post, I thought I really ought to update on what has been going on here. I passed my first assignment (hurray!), which was a massive relief after all the depressing discussions on the CSU module forum.
Honestly, I’m not very happy with the mark that I achieved, I don’t feel that it really reflects my understanding of what is an ILSC and the role of the TL in creating it. I don’t want to sound like a moaning Minnie though! I’ve never been that great at typical – research based coursework. I’m now beginning to realise (through my reading for this module), that’s because I wasn’t particularly information literate. I didn’t read things and internalise the ideas. I just learned for the purpose of getting the coursework done and then moved on to the next topic.
But, I really felt like I put in a lot of time and effort this time, read and retained a lot of information, modified my mental models, and came on a really long journey from where I was at the start of this course. To be honest, I hadn’t even heard of an ‘ILSC’ before I began this module. In addition to all that, I have taken action – I don’t want to be an inactive student! I have given a presentation to my admin team that follows the ideas of this module and they were inspired by what I shared with them. I have been trying to share my knowledge with them. So, I guess I just don’t think that the mark reflects the progress that I feel I have made in constructing meaning for myself on this topic.
Regarding my computer, well it’s dead! But they rescued my hard-drive, so there is life after death after death!
Overall, everything that I was feeling low about turned out ok in the end. It’s not like me to get so worried about things, but I guess this course really matters to me. I am genuinely 100% interested and engaged in something that I am studying for the first time in my life, I never imagined that I would fail. Once the realisation that failing was a possibility set in, I panicked. But, I am calm again now. Well, to be honest I’m calmish! The second assignment is hanging over me and I’m struggling to get to grips with Part B of it, but then that’s another story!
Leave a Reply

 
